Tuesday, January 16, 2018
Residents of the Township of Minden Hills are likely in for a not unsubstantial property tax increase in 2018.
Friday, December 22, 2017
An annual tradition, here is a countdown of the top 10 Times stories of the year.
Tuesday, December 19, 2017
It s something some members of Haliburton County council don t seem to want to deal with, and certainly it will be a sizeable challenge, but the county needs some form of public transportation system.
Tuesday, December 12, 2017
The Township of Minden Hills should construct a new public boat launch on Bob Lake.
Tuesday, December 5, 2017
It is becoming abundantly clear, as clear as the bags in which we re all supposed to deposit our household waste, that there are issues with the management of the Scotch Line landfill in Minden Hills.
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
As I begin this column, I m having a difficult time concentrating. I m having a difficult time concentrating because, as I write this, I ve recently learned that hundreds of Ontarians will be losing their jobs. Hundreds of Ontarians just like me.
Tuesday, November 21, 2017
It s an awkward conversation for municipal politicians to have, the one about how much they should get paid. That conversation is, after all, public and they are, after all, paid with public money.
Tuesday, November 14, 2017
Unless you ve had your head in a cloud of smoke, you re likely aware the federal government is rolling out legislation to legalize marijuana, a move that has sparked some controversy. And dubious puns.
Tuesday, November 7, 2017
This Saturday is Remembrance Day. In thousands of communities across the country, crowds will gather at cenotaphs for solemn ceremonies where wreaths will be laid and silence observed, in honour of soldiers who fought and died for causes in which they be
Tuesday, October 31, 2017
It s a buzz term favoured by politicians of the moment middle class.
Tuesday, October 24, 2017
It s not pretty, but it s important. Mandated by the province, the municipalities of Haliburton County are in the process of rolling out septic tank re-inspection programs. The exact process will vary by municipality, each responsible for designing it
Tuesday, October 17, 2017
I grew up in Little Britain, a small village outside Lindsay that some readers may be familiar with. The place with the butter tart shop.
Tuesday, October 10, 2017
In an appearance on TVO s The Agenda last week, Haliburton County Warden Brent Devolin spoke about the need for improved wireless connectivity to broadband, high-speed Internet in the county for its economic development.
Wednesday, October 4, 2017
The province should bring back traditional methods for teaching math to elementary students.
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Well, thank the snow gods for the mercy they have bestowed upon us.
Tuesday, September 19, 2017
It takes a certain kind of person to become a volunteer firefighter, a special kind of person.
Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Recently on social media, I wrote about an experience in picking up my four-year-old daughter from daycare. When I told her friends we were going to the library, one elementary school-aged child piped up and said, but how can you go there, there s no ram
Tuesday, September 5, 2017
There are a number of them in Haliburton County, hiding in plain sight. They really aren t difficult to find, often lurking around the shores of lakes.
Wednesday, August 30, 2017
The Elemenatary Teachers Federation of Ontario ignited a wave of controversy last week with a recommendation that schools in Ontario named for Canada s first prime minister, Sir John A. Macdonald, be renamed.
Tuesday, August 22, 2017
During last week s Association of Municipalities of Ontario conference in Ottawa, the provincial government was quick to dismiss the suggestion that harmonized sales tax in Ontario be increased by one per cent, that extra money earmarked for municipal inf
Tuesday, August 8, 2017
Once it hit the media, it took exactly a week for the strange saga of the trademarking of the word Haliburton by a local man for commercial purposes to come to a conclusion.
Tuesday, August 1, 2017
This was to be the summer of innovation at the lake.
Tuesday, August 1, 2017
It seems like something out of The Beaverton or The Onion or any other number of satirical publications, but it is in fact, real life.
Tuesday, July 25, 2017
As has been written in this space before, two major Minden floods in a four-year period have made it evident that flood mitigation infrastructure will be required in the village.
Thursday, July 20, 2017
The issues of landfills and waste diversion have taken up a lot of space in this publication lately.
1 2 3 4 5