Tuesday, September 19, 2017
Mopping up the messes of Hurricanes Harvey and Irma is happening hundreds of miles away but Canadian consumers need to take care that they don t get soaked.
Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Most of us have gone through life thinking little about nuclear war. The chances of it have been minimal because everyone understands that launching just one nuke could bring global catastrophe, perhaps even end human civilization.
Tuesday, September 5, 2017
School days, school days, good old fashioned . . . Reading and writing and rithmetic . . . . and coding.
Wednesday, August 30, 2017
So much to do, but so many stupid people in the way. You can t get important stuff done when surrounded by incompetents.
Wednesday, August 23, 2017
At one point in my life I considered myself a runner. I truly believed that if I didn t go for a run I wasn t exercising. Even an hour on the squash court didn t count as exercise in my mind. The incredibly funny and shortsighted part of that thought proc
Tuesday, August 22, 2017
My first thought was that it was a ludicrous notion. Then I said to myself: Get cool. Explore a new trend. And that s how I got to go glamping.
Wednesday, August 16, 2017
It is disheartening how we Canadians manage to turn interesting and important debates into spiteful squabbles. We toss emotion and hard core bias onto the path toward the clarity needed for understanding. The latest example is the foggy but vicious debate
Tuesday, August 8, 2017
The era of the personality cult finally appears to be ended at CBC s The National.
Tuesday, August 1, 2017
This was to be the summer of innovation at the lake.
Thursday, July 27, 2017
If you see a beaver this summer, stop to give it a hug. The poor little guy or gal could use some affection, and some appreciation. If you don t want to get too close, just blow it a kiss.
Tuesday, July 18, 2017
Don t mess with Mother Nature, used to be a cute and humorous expression. Not these days. Too often now we witness how an angry Mother Nature fights back.
Tuesday, July 11, 2017
One hundred years ago this week a vacationing Toronto doctor was relaxing at his rented cottage on Algonquin Park s Canoe Lake. He looked out over the water and noticed an odd piece of flotsam.
Wednesday, July 5, 2017
I ll never forget Canada Day 2017. It was the day Louie learned to swim.
Thursday, June 29, 2017
I don t know anyone who likes doing Burpees. When I have clients do them (notice I didn t say ask clients to do them ) this question often comes up Why are they called Burpees? Until now, I didn t know the answer. But now, thanks to Google, I do.
Tuesday, June 27, 2017
There is hope.
Tuesday, June 20, 2017
I love the sound of dragonfly wings in the evening.
Tuesday, June 13, 2017
There is an important anniversary in my life this month. It is an anniversary that tells more about a changed culture than my individual life.
Tuesday, June 6, 2017
Finally, the mystery is solved.
Tuesday, May 30, 2017
Machines and I don t get along. I have never done them any bad, but they have never liked me. Whenever we meet, they treat me like an idiot. That happened again last week when I had to make a trip into the Big Smoke.
Tuesday, May 23, 2017
We live in an increasingly peevish society.
Tuesday, May 16, 2017
Sloughs, marshes and ditches along the roads are brimming and finally getting some warm sun. So it won t be long now before thousands of amphibians begin their annual overland migrations.
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Back scratchers do not have video screens, so I was surprised when my 10-year-old grandson Anderson asked me to make him a wooden back scratcher.
Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Judging the first 100 days in office is ridiculous, artificial and something invented by the news media. That s how U.S. President Forrest Trump sees it. I feel it is important however, as president of my family, to review my performance for the first 10
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
Ah, the joys of becoming parents. Here it is, Ingrams. You ve imagined it, maybe even planned for it. You ve got that baby in your hands and you re home and now well, now what? To get you through the sleepless nights, here s some advice:
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
The cattle are prowlin , the coyotes are howlin Way out where the doggies bawl
1 2 3 4 5